top of page

Exploring the Seven Chakras and Their Energetic Significance

"The chakras are very intelligent – they are like the software of the whole computer body.” – Dharma Mittra

Exploring the Seven Chakras Retreat

Introducing the seven Chakras:

Within each of us lies a subtle system of energy centres known as chakras. Originating from ancient Indian spiritual traditions, these seven chakras are considered focal points of energy within the human body. These chakras are believed to be interconnected centres that run along the spine, starting from the base and extending up to the crown of the head. Each chakra is associated with specific physical, emotional, and spiritual attributes. The chakras are named as follows, from the base to the crown: Root Chakra (Muladhara), Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana), Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura), Heart Chakra (Anahata), Throat Chakra (Vishuddha), Third Eye Chakra (Ajna), and Crown Chakra (Sahasrara).

The practice of yoga aims to balance and activate these chakras, promoting physical well-being, emotional harmony, and spiritual growth. By working on the chakras through meditation, breathing exercises, and yoga postures, practitioners seek to enhance their overall health and inner awareness. We will explore the seven chakras, their meanings, which yoga poses support, and how to foster balance and alignment within each one.

Root Chakra Maladhara

1. Root Chakra (Muladhara):

The Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine and represents our foundation and sense of stability. It is associated with the element of Earth and relates to our basic survival needs, such as security, safety, and grounding. When balanced, the Root Chakra brings feelings of stability, security, and a strong connection to the physical world. Practices such as grounding exercises, yoga poses such as Mountain Pose (Tadasana), Warrior I (Virabhandrasana I) and Seated forward Bend (Paschimottanasana), and spending time in nature can help balance this chakra.

The colour of the Muladhara is Red.

The Mantra you can use with this Chakra is: I am

Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana):

The Sacral Chakra is situated in the lower abdomen, below the navel. It governs our creativity, sensuality, and emotional well-being. This chakra is associated with the element of Water and represents our ability to experience pleasure, embrace our desires, and connect with others intimately. Balancing the Sacral Chakra involves engaging in creative activities, practising self-care, embracing healthy relationships, and exploring our emotions through practices like journaling or dance. Yoga poses that support this chakra are Bound Angle Pose (Baddha Konasana), Pigeon Pose (Eka Pada Rajakapotasana) and Cobra Pose (Bhujangasana).

The colour of the Svadhisthana is Orange.

The Mantra you can use with this Chakra is: I feel

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura):

The Solar Plexus Chakra is located in the upper abdomen, near the stomach. It represents our personal power, confidence, and self-worth. Associated with the element of Fire, it ignites our inner fire and motivates us to pursue our goals. A balanced Solar Plexus Chakra brings a sense of empowerment, self-assurance, and personal growth. Practices such as meditation, yoga poses that engage the core such as Boat Pose (Navasana), Plank Pose (Phalakasana) andWarrior III (Virabhadrasana III) as well as positive affirmations can help strengthen and balance this chakra.

The colour of the Manipura is Yellow.

The Mantra you can use with this Chakra is: I do

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata):

The Heart Chakra resides in the centre of the chest, symbolising love, compassion, and connection. It is associated with the element of Air and influences our ability to give and receive love, foster empathy, and establish healthy relationships. A balanced Heart Chakra promotes feelings of love, forgiveness, and emotional healing. Practices like heart-opening yoga poses such as Camel Pose (Ustrasana), Bridge Pose (Setu Bandhasana) and Cobra Pose (Bhujangasana) as well as acts of kindness, self-love rituals, and practising gratitude can help nourish and balance this chakra.

The colour of the Anahata is Green.

The Mantra you can use with this Chakra is: I love

hroat Chakra (Vishuddha)

5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha):

The Throat Chakra is situated at the base of the throat and is associated with self-expression, communication, and authenticity. Representing the element of Ether, it governs our ability to speak our truth, listen attentively, and communicate effectively. A balanced Throat Chakra fosters clear and authentic expression of thoughts and emotions. Practices like singing, chanting, journaling, yoga poses such as Shoulder Stand (Sarvangasana), Fish Pose (Matsyasana) and Supported Headstand (Salamba Sirsasana) as well as engaging in conscious communication practices can help balance this chakra.

The colour of the Vishuddha is Blue.

The Mantra you can use with this Chakra is: I Speak

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna):

The Third Eye Chakra is located in the centre of the forehead, between the eyebrows. It represents our intuition, inner wisdom, and spiritual insight. Associated with the element of Light, it enhances our ability to see beyond the physical realm and perceive the interconnectedness of all things. Balancing the Third Eye Chakra involves meditation, visualisation practices, yoga poses such as Child's Pose (Balasana) Dolphin Pose (Ardha Pincha Mayurasana) and Eagle Pose (Garudasana) as well as cultivating inner stillness and introspection.

The colour of the Ajna is Indigo or Purple.

The Mantra you can use with this Chakra is: I See

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara):

The Crown Chakra is situated at the top of the head and represents our connection to the divine, higher consciousness, and spiritual enlightenment. It is associated with the element of Thought and transcends duality, allowing us to experience unity and universal love. Practices such these yoga poses - Lotus Pose (Padmasana), Half Lotus Pose (Ardha Padmasana) and Headstand (Sirsasana) as well as meditation, prayer, and connecting with nature can help align and balance the Crown Chakra.

The colour of the Sahasrara is Violet or White.

The Mantra you can use with this Chakra is: I understand

The seven Chakra energy centres:

The seven chakras form a dynamic system of energy centres within us, each playing a crucial role in our overall well-being. By understanding the significance of these chakras and engaging in different practices that promote balance and alignment, we can cultivate a harmonious state of being. While these yoga poses are associated with specific chakras, a holistic yoga practice usually involves working on all chakras rather than focusing solely on one. Embrace the journey within, explore these energy centres, and allow the balanced flow of energy to guide you towards greater physical, emotional, and spiritual wholeness. Join Lara Roux on Silver Island for her Chakra Inspired Retreat.


bottom of page